Up Now, Slight Man!

slightman2

 

The writings of some of the old writers can be a chore to understand. It takes a bit of mental wrestling. For me, that holds true for these short thoughts from a believer named St. Anselm.

Read through it, wrestle through it. I think it will be worth the effort.

“Up now, slight man!

Flee for a little while your occupation; hide yourself for a time from your disturbing thoughts.

Cast aside now your burdensome cares, and put away your toilsome business. Yield room for some little time to God, and rest for a little time in Him.
Enter the inner chamber of your mind; shut out all thoughts save that of God and such as can aid you in seeking Him.

Speak now, my whole heart! Speak now to God, saying, ‘I seek Your Face; Your Face, Lord, will I seek.’ ”

– St. Anselm, 1033-1109


When You said, “Seek My face,” my heart said to You,
“Your face, O Lord, I shall seek.”

Psalm 27:8

I know very little about St. Anselm, but my pastor recommended this quote – not necessarily all his writings – to our church family a few years ago.

Leave a Reply

