Eliza Spurgeon

Eliza Spurgeon’s prayer life made a strong impression on her son, Charles, and her husband, John.

It’s encouraging to read about and see first hand the heart of godly moms for their children – and their God.

“Never could it be possible for any man to estimate what he owes a godly mother.

Certainly I have not the powers of speech to set forth my valuation of the choice blessing which the Lord bestowed on me in making me the son of one who prayed for me, and prayed with me.

How can I ever forget her tearful eye when she warned me to escape from the wrath to come?

How can I ever forget when she bowed her knee, and with her arms about my neck, prayed, ‘Oh, that my son might live before Thee!’ ”

~Charles Spurgeon, 1834-1892

“As I came home one evening and went upstairs, I heard the voice of his mother pleading for her boy Charles, and talking to him and the others, and pouring her heart out in prayer in such a way as I never did in my life, and as I never heard before.

It is for the encouragement  of mothers that I mention this, that you may pray for your children, for God is a prayer-hearing God, and a prayer-answering God.”

~John Spurgeon, 1811-1902


I stumbled across those thoughts on a website called The Bible Truth Chat Room. I don’t know enough about the site to recommend it. I was just encouraged by what I read there from the Spurgeons.

This entry was posted in Prayer.

Leave a Reply

